February 28, 2021, 05:15:20 AM

Author Topic: Ok educate me (some more) (fixed as of v2.5)  (Read 6367 times)

homerboy

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Ok educate me (some more) (fixed as of v2.5)
« on: February 24, 2004, 12:25:00 PM »
I have a machine here that goes as follows:

In Win2k \"Network Places\" I can see it fine... map shares etc n/p

In NEWT:

Workgroup Discovery sees the machine, but cant scan it (no error given... and YES I have admin rights to the machine)

IP Discovery does not even see the machine at all.
"Ah... In a time of such ugliness, the only true protest is to be beautiful." - The Refused.

Komodo Support

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2699
  • Dayton, Ohio, USA
    • Komodo Laboratories LLC
Ok educate me (some more) (fixed as of v2.5)
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2004, 05:36:23 PM »
Hi there.

After scanning this machine, what does it say under the Status column in the Primary tab?  This information is also displayed at the bottom of the screen when clicking on a machine.  It should show the time/date of the scan and if it was successful.  Are you getting a red icon on this machine?


* Thread was moved General to Support by Administrator. *

homerboy

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Ok educate me (some more) (fixed as of v2.5)
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2004, 10:22:14 AM »
Problem solved... they still had personal firewall software installed (ZA). But it WAS NOT RUNNING. Removing the software allows me to see the machine in IP and Workgroup scan.

I still have 2 machines that I can see fine but I have "no privledges" msg coming up even though I CLEARLY have a login on their computer...
"Ah... In a time of such ugliness, the only true protest is to be beautiful." - The Refused.

Komodo Support

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2699
  • Dayton, Ohio, USA
    • Komodo Laboratories LLC
Ok educate me (some more) (fixed as of v2.5)
« Reply #3 on: February 25, 2004, 11:22:58 AM »
Great.

Are you able to remotely browse to the Uninstall registry path on the 2 inaccessible machines from your machine using RegEdit?

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\\SOFTWARE\\Microsoft\\Windows\\CurrentVersion\\Uninstall

homerboy

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Ok educate me (some more) (fixed as of v2.5)
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2004, 12:42:47 PM »
actually... no I cant get to them via remote registry.

I also looked and there is no firwall software or VPN protocols installed on it (the VPN thing was an issue with another machine actually)
"Ah... In a time of such ugliness, the only true protest is to be beautiful." - The Refused.

Komodo Support

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2699
  • Dayton, Ohio, USA
    • Komodo Laboratories LLC
Ok educate me (some more) (fixed as of v2.5)
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2004, 04:34:15 PM »
Ok, there can be several issues related to security.

You could check to make sure that the "Remote Registry Service" is running on the remote machine.

Also, may we ask what OS is the problem machine running?

homerboy

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
Ok educate me (some more) (fixed as of v2.5)
« Reply #6 on: March 01, 2004, 11:20:32 AM »
Remote Registry Service is running on the machine(s)

Win2k Pro (fully patched) on all machines
"Ah... In a time of such ugliness, the only true protest is to be beautiful." - The Refused.

Komodo Support

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2699
  • Dayton, Ohio, USA
    • Komodo Laboratories LLC
Ok educate me (some more) (fixed as of v2.5)
« Reply #7 on: March 01, 2004, 06:59:34 PM »
Your machines are running in a workgroup configuration, is that right?  If you're running with the same username/password on the remote machine, then you should have full remote adminstrator privileges.

Is this the case?